On February 19, 2019, Gov. Phil Murphy signed Assembly Bill 3975 to expand New Jersey’s Paid Family Leave program making it one of the most generous in the country.
The bill will take effect July 2020 when paid leave will double from 6 to 12 weeks and intermittent leave will increase from 42 to 56 days. Weekly benefits will increase as well from the current 67 percent of pay to 85 percent of pay— capped at 70 percent of the state weekly average wage.
The bill immediately removes the one-week waiting period for Family Leave Insurance benefits, enacts anti-retaliatory measures and expands eligibility to include siblings, grandparents, grandchild, parents-in-law and anyone who could be shown as having an equivalent of a family member relationship.
More about Paid Family Leave
Currently, only four states go beyond the federal minimum of FMLA to offer Paid Family Leave (PFL) — New Jersey, New York, Rhode Island and California — with several other states in line to implement the regulation.
Washington D.C. and Washington State will require PFL in 2020. Massachusetts signed the program into law June 2018 with benefits becoming available January 2021.